Sarah Newton appointed as new Chair of HSE

The Department for Work and Pensions has appointed Sarah Newton as Chair of the Health and Safety Executive (HSE) Board

The appointment commences on 1 August 2020 and is a 5 year posting. She will replace Martin Temple at the conclusion of his term.

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions Thérèse Coffey said:

"I’m pleased to welcome Sarah to this important role and look forward to working with her.

"Her insight and experience will be huge assets as we work to safely resume everyday life across the country, helping to build confidence within business and workers as we get Britain back into work.

"I would also like to thank Martin for his dedication throughout his service over the last five years."

Sarah Newton said:

"As we move out of the nationwide lockdown and learn to live with Covid 19, the role of the HSE has never been more critical. I am looking forward to working with the HSE non executive and executive leadership team, tackling the challenges, building on the strengths of the organisation and working in partnership with employers, unions, trade associations, professional bodies, academics and others, enabling Great Britain to work safely and well."

About Sarah Newton

Sarah Newton was Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions from November 2017 to March 2019. She was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office from 17 July 2016 to 9 November 2017. She was elected Conservative MP for Truro and Falmouth in May 2010. Sarah served as Assistant Government Whip from May 2015 until July 2016. Sarah was previously a councillor on Merton Council. During her time in Wimbledon, she served as the head of Friends of Cannizaro Park.

She has served on a wide range of boards and is currently a Non-Executive Director of the Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust. Sarah was a marketing officer for IBIS, Citibank and American Express. After working for American Express for 4 years she became Director of Age Concern England. Sarah is also Founder and Initial Director of the International Longevity Centre.