Police and National Crime Agency pay review bodies appoint new chair

The Prime Minister has appointed a new chair of the Police Remuneration Review Body (PRRB) and the National Crime Agency Remuneration Review Body (NCARRB)

Anita Bharucha will oversee independent recommendations on police and NCA officer pay.

Anita Bharucha has been a member of the PRRB since December 2014. Her appointment as chair commenced on 18 December 2018 and will last for three years.

Ms Bharucha is currently Chief Operating Officer of the Smith School of Enterprise and Environment at the University of Oxford. She also chairs the audit and governance committee of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Authority.

Furthermore, the Home Secretary has appointed four members to sit on the PRRB and NCARRB. The appointees are Andy Bliss, Richard Childs, Patrick McCartan and Trevor Reaney.

Mr Bliss QPM had a career of more than 20 years in policing, most recently serving as chief constable of Hertfordshire Constabulary between 2011 and 2016.

Mr Childs QPM served as a police officer for 30 years and has also ran his own private consultancy across various industries, including security and policing.

Mr McCartan CBE has previously chaired the Independent Financial Review Panel of the Northern Ireland Assembly and the Police Pensions Board Northern Ireland.

Mr Reaney CBE most recently served as Clerk and Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Assembly between 2008 and his retirement in 2016. He was also previously the Chief Executive of the Northern Ireland Policing Board.

The PRRB makes independent recommendations concerning the pay and conditions of police officers to the Home Secretary and the Northern Ireland Minister of Justice.

The PRRB’s recommendations concern police officers at or below the rank of chief superintendent and cover allowances, hours of duty, leave and other matters.

The NCARRB makes independent recommendations to the government on the pay and allowances of NCA officers designated with operational powers.