Government holds first taskforce for the UK Battery Strategy

The Department for Business and Trade (DBT) launches the UK Battery Strategy Taskforce made up of leaders from academia and industry

  • The Department for Business and Trade launches new expert UK Battery Strategy Taskforce.
  • The Taskforce is made up of industry and academic experts from across the battery eco-system.
  • The UK Battery Strategy is due to be published in the coming months.

Today (Monday 2 October) the UK Battery Strategy Taskforce had its inaugural meeting.  The group brings together industry experts and academics from across the battery ecosystem to support development of the UK’s first battery strategy.

The Government plans to publish the UK’s battery strategy in the coming months, setting out a joined-up government-industry approach to deliver a battery ecosystem that unleashes economic prosperity, delivers on our net zero ambitions and ensures our access to technologies and applications that are vital to our security.

Membership list:

  • Dame Professor Clare Grey, University of Cambridge (co-chair)
  • Professor Julia Sutcliffe, Department for Business and Trade Chief Scientific Advisor (co-chair)
  • Jacqui Murray, National Manufacturing Institute Scotland
  • Craig Wilson, WAE Technologies
  • Carol Rose Burke, Unipart Manufacturing
  • David Bailey, Birmingham University
  • Merlin Hyman OBE, Regen
  • Nicholas Beatty, Zenobe
  • Simon Moores, Benchmark Minerals
  • Robin Brundle, Technology Minerals
  • Kunal Sinha, Glencore Recycling
  • Gavin Graveson, Veolia
  • Mike Hawes, SMMT
  • Professor David Greenwood, WMG High Value Manufacturing Catapult
  • Jeff Pratt, Envision, AESC
  • Anna Wise, Nyobolt
  • Professor Patrick Grant, Oxford University

Department for Business and Trade