Thousands of students will benefit from new cadet units backed by £50 million Government plan

25 schools are to create new cadet units under the Government-sponsored Cadet Expansion Programme (CEP).

Thousands of students, many often from less prosperous areas, are set to benefit from the development prospects and new skills, such as team-work, problem solving and leadership that school cadet units bring. These will be opened in areas where previously opportunities such as this were limited.

This new wave of cadet units follows an announcement last year by Defence Secretary Sir Michael Fallon on another 25, as the government remains on target to have a total of 500 running in UK schools by 2020. The CEP is backed by £50 million funding from LIBOR fines, which pays for set up costs, the students’ uniforms, equipment and training.

Speaking at Brompton Academy today, Defence Minister Mark Lancaster, said:

"These new units help deliver on the Government’s manifesto commitment that more students should be able to enjoy the rewards of joining the cadets from every background.

"Cadet Forces offer a fantastic opportunity for students, providing exciting new opportunities and helping to instil the positive values of citizenship, responsibility and fairness.

Cadet units, provide challenging and enjoyable activities for students, offering them the opportunity to learn new skills, engage in adventurous activities, and help them gain vocational BTEC qualifications. Schools also recognise the benefits, with a number of Head Teachers saying that having cadets as students improves attendance and classroom behavior and research has shown an increase in academic achievement, self-esteem and self-confidence.

Learn more about the Cadet Expansion Programme here.

The Schools that will be setting up new Cadet units are:

• Ash Manor School- Surrey
• Aston University Engineering Academy- West Midlands
• Barr Beacon School- West Midlands
• Boldon School- Tyne and Wear
• Cookstown High School- Sheffield South Yorkshire
• Haberdashers’ Aske’s Knights Academy- Kent
• Hayesfield Girls School- Somerset
• Isle of Portland Aldridge Community Academy- Dorset
• Knole Academy- Sevenoaks, Kent
• Maxwelltown High School- Lochside Rd, Dumfries
• Northbrook College- West Sussex
• Ron Dearing UTC- Hull
• Shenfield High School- Essex
• Sirius Academy West- Hull
• St Antony’s Catholic College- Greater Manchester
• The Dean Academy- Gloucestershire
• The Hawthorne’s Free School- Merseyside
• The International School - West Midlands
• The John Warner School - Hertfordshire
• The Phoenix Collegiate- West Midlands
• The Priory City of Lincoln Academy- Lincolnshire
• The Priory Ruskin Academy- Lincolnshire
• The Priory Witham Academy- Lincolnshire
• The Victory Academy- Kent