Department of Health appoints new team of non-executive directors

Five new members join the board at the Department of Health

Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt has appointed Kate Lampard, Dame Sue Bailey, Sir Ron Kerr, Michael Mire and Prof. Sir Mike Richards as non-executive directors to the Department of Health board.

Kate Lampard is a former barrister and vice chair of the South of England Strategic Health Authority, and of the Financial Ombudsman Service Limited. She is the chair of GambleAware and works as an independent consultant. She previously led the NHS investigations into Jimmy Savile and was commissioned by the board of Serco Plc to investigate the treatment of residents at Yarl’s Wood Immigration Removal Centre.

Prof. Dame Sue Bailey is chair of the Children and Young People’s Mental Health Coalition and Honorary Professor of Mental Health Policy at the University of Central Lancashire. She serves as chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and was a consultant child and adolescent forensic psychiatrist.

Sir Ron Kerr served as chief executive of Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust and remains an adviser to the GST Board. He was previously chief executive of United Bristol Healthcare NHS Trust, deputy director of financial management for the NHS Executive, and chief executive of the South East London Commissioning Agency.

Michael Mire is chair of the Land Registry and senior independent director at the Care Quality Commission. He was a senior partner at McKinsey & Company.

Gerry Murphy has served as a non-executive director and chair of the Audit and Risk Committee at the Department of Health since 2015. He is a non-executive director at Dixons Carphone Plc.

Prof. Sir Mike Richards was previously a physician for more than 20 years. In 1999 he was appointed as the department’s first National Cancer Director. He was Director for Reducing Premature Mortality on the NHS Commissioning Board (now NHS England).

Minister of State for Health, Philip Dunne said:

"We are delighted to welcome our new team of non-executive directors, who bring with them experience and knowledge from different spheres to support us as leaders of the nation’s health and care.

"They will join Gerry Murphy, who we are pleased to reappoint to his role. We will be encouraging their involvement in priority issues for the department and wider system. I look forward to working with them all and to their contributions to departmental board."