Social Security Advisory Committee appointments

The Social Security Advisory Committee welcomes 6 new members

The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) has appointed the following new members to the Social Security Advisory Committee (SSAC):

Les Allamby
Rachel Chiu
Daphne Hall
Stephen Hardy
Jacob Meagher
Suzy Walton

In addition, existing member Bruce Calderwood has been re-appointed to the Committee for a further term of three years.

Confirming the appointments, Parliamentary-Under-Secretary for DWP, Viscount Younger of Leckie, said:

"I am delighted to welcome Les, Rachel, Daphne, Stephen, Jacob, and Suzy to the Social Security Advisory Committee, and also to welcome back Bruce for a further term. Collectively, the new appointments bring a formidable wealth of knowledge, experience and diverse perspectives which will further enrich the advice that the Committee provides to the DWP Ministerial team."

Dr Stephen Brien, SSAC Chair, said:

"These appointments are a very welcome addition to the current Committee membership. The diversity of the new appointments will bring with it an impressive mix of knowledge, skills, and insight to our work on a broad range of issues that affect many people in our society who find themselves in vulnerable situations. I look forward to working with our new colleagues."

About the Committee

Established in 1980, the Social Security Advisory Committee is an independent statutory body. It provides advice to the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions on proposals for the amendment of secondary legislation and on general social security matters.

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates all appointments made to SSAC by the Secretary of State. All such appointments are made in accordance with the Governance Code for Public Appointments.

SSAC members receive a daily fee of £256.80, for a time commitment of 2 to 3 days a month.

About the appointees

Les Allamby

Les holds several public appointments including Discretionary Support Commissioner for Northern Ireland. Les is a former member and vice-Chair of SSAC (2005 to 2014).

Les has been appointed from 1 February 2024 to 31 January 2029.

Bruce Calderwood

Bruce is a trustee of Avenues, a group of charitable companies providing support for people with complex needs. He is a former senior civil servant who served both in the Department of Health and DWP.

Bruce has been reappointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

Rachel Chiu

Rachel is a co-founder and director of Spring Housing Association and is a trustee of IKON.

Rachel has been appointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2028.

Daphne Hall

Daphne is an editor at Rightsnet and is the Vice Chair of the National Association of Welfare Rights Advisers. 

Daphne has been appointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

Stephen Hardy

Stephen is a Professor of Law at the University of Hull and a Judicial Office Holder. 

Stephen has been appointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

Jacob Meagher

Jacob is a practising barrister (England and Wales), a Research Associate at the University of Cambridge Centre for Business Research and a Board Member and Trustee of the Snowdon Trust.  

Jacob has been appointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2028.

Suzy Walton

Suzy is a strategic adviser and former board member at the Institute of Directors. A former senior civil servant at the Cabinet Office, Suzy has a number of roles on various public bodies, is a Chartered Director and a mother of 7. She has a PhD from her work in the Ministry of Defence on suicide.

Suzy has been appointed from 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

Social Security Advisory Committee
Department for Work and Pensions
Viscount Younger of Leckie