David Jones appointed as Chair of DVLA

DVLA today announced the appointment of David Jones as its non-executive Chair

David has a proven track record in digital services and is currently a non-executive director at Ofcom and Ofwat. Prior to his work in the public sector, David was Chief Technology Officer at the Cardiff-based Aspro Travel Group and was then Founder / CEO of Travelink Software. David will take up his post at the end of January 2024 when Lesley Cowley OBE, the current DVLA Chair, steps down following nine successful years as DVLA Chair.

Roads Minister Guy Opperman said:

"I would like to thank Lesley for her dedication and amazing work with the DVLA over the past nine years. I look forward to working closely with David to ensure the DVLA continues to deliver fast and efficient services for customers, as well as deliver on their digital transformation work."

David Jones said:

"I am excited to join the DVLA as Chair. Both my parents were from Swansea, so this feels like coming home. DVLA has already demonstrated a commendable capability in digital transformation, and I look forward to steering this forward. We stand at the cusp of exciting technological advancements and as the DVLA embraces new horizons, we will remain focused on ensuring that technological progression continues to serve, enhance and simplify the lives of every motorist in the country."

DVLA Chief Executive Julie Lennard said:

"I am very much looking forward to working with David. These are exciting times for DVLA and David’s knowledge and experience will be of great benefit as we continue our work to increase the take up of our excellent digital services."

Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency