Thirty-two academy leaders elected to help schools thrive

Names of academy leaders elected to headteacher boards announced

The names of 32 academy leaders elected to help shape the future of schools in their local areas, have been announced today (11 October) by the Department for Education.

The leaders – who were elected by their peers across the country – were chosen because they have the right experience and local knowledge to take on this important role. They will each join one of the eight regional Headteacher Boards across England. The boards provide support to the Regional Schools Commissioners in those areas as they work to provide effective oversight of local schools and advise the National Schools Commissioner, Sir David Carter and the government.

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the School System, Sir Theodore Agnew, said:

"Headteacher Boards have already shown they can provide invaluable support in improving the education of pupils across England and I’d like to thank everyone who has played an important role so far.

"The local expertise and wisdom of the newly elected members will be vital in helping schools continue to flourish and I look forward to working with them in my new role."

The newly elected members will build on the successes of the previous Headteacher Boards, which have been in place since July 2014 when the role of Regional Schools Commissioner was created. The Headteacher Boards have already helped a growing number of academies to share expertise with neighbouring schools and within multi-academy trusts, driving improvement for thousands of pupils.

Two additional board members will be appointed by each Regional Schools Commissioner, and the board will be able to appoint further members to fill skills or expertise gaps in the future. Those elected to Headteacher Boards do not have decision-making powers, but provide local expertise to inform the decisions of National and Regional Schools Commissioners and ministers.

National Schools Commissioner, Sir David Carter, said:

"Over the last three years the expertise of Headteacher Boards has been so important in helping to create a self-managing and ever-improving education system.

"I know from personal experience how much Headteacher Boards help inform decisions and I’m looking forward to working with the newly-elected members to help make our school system even better."

The academy leaders elected to the Headteacher Boards, assuming the position on 1 November 2017, are:

Regional Schools Commissioner - Janet Renou (north of England)
Elected member - Zoe Carr (WISE Academies), Chris Clarke (Lunesdale Learning Trust), Nick Hurn (Trinity Catholic Trust), Lesley Powell (North East Learning Trust)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Vicky Beer (Lancashire and west Yorkshire)
Elected member - Julie Bradley (Tauheedul Education Trust), Karen Bramwell (Forward As One Church of England Multi Academy Trust), Royston Halford (The Rowan Learning Trust), Duncan Jacques (Exceed Academies Trust)

Regional Schools Commissioner - John Edwards (East Midlands and the Humber)
Elected member -  Peter Bell (Community Inclusive Trust), Anne Martin (QEGSMAT), Roisin Paul (Chorus Education Trust), Paul Stone (Discovery Schools Academy Trust)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Christine Quinn (west Midlands)
Elected member - Dame Mo Brennan (Matrix Academy Trust), Mike Donoghue (John Taylor MAT), Sinead Smith (Holy Spirit Catholic Multi Academy), Margaret Yates (All Saints Catholic Collegiate)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Lisa Mannall (south-west England)
Elected member - Sally Apps (Cabot Learning Federation), Suzanne Flack (The Redstart Learning Partnership), Paul Jones (Retired from First Federation Trust Academy), Steve Savory (Gloucestershire Learning Alliance)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Sue Baldwin (north-east London and east of England)
Elected member - Brian Conway (St. John the Baptist Catholic MAT), Caroline Derbyshire (Saffron Academy Trust), Karen Kerridge (Benflet Schools Trust), Nardeep Sharma (Thrive Partnership Academy Trust)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Martin Post (north-west London and south central England
Elected member - Sarah Bennett (Inspiring Futures Through Learning), Dame Sue Bourne (Retired from The Avenue School – Special Needs Academy Trust), Tom Rees (Northampton Primary Academy Trust), Claire Robins (Sir John Lawes Academies Trust)

Regional Schools Commissioner - Dominic Herrington (south London and south-east England)
Elected member - Sir Andrew Carter (South Farnham Educational Trust), Jon Chaloner (GLF Schools), Paula Farrow (Nexus Education Schools Trust), Justin Smith (The Primary First Trust)