Dr Samir Shah CBE is confirmed as the new BBC Chair

Following Privy Council approval on 21 February, Dr Samir Shah CBE has been appointed for 4 years from 04 March 2024 to 03 March 2028

Dr Samir Shah, CBE, has worked in broadcasting for over forty years. Prior to taking up the role as Chair of the BBC, he was the CEO of Juniper, an independent television and radio production company, since 1998. Before Juniper, Samir was head of current affairs and political programmes at the BBC. In 2022, the RTS (Royal Television Society) awarded him its top honour: Outstanding Contribution (AKA Lifetime Achievement award) to journalism. Samir was a Non-Executive Director of the BBC (2007-2010), Chair of the Museum of the Home (2014-2022), and was a trustee then Deputy Chair of the V&A (2004-2014). He was Chair of the Runnymede Trust (1999-2009) and One World Media (2020-2024) and was a Member of the Arts and Media Honours Committee (2022-2024).

Samir was appointed a CBE for services to Television and Heritage in the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours. He was previously made an OBE in the 2000 New Year’s Honours List. Samir was elected a Fellow of the Royal Television Society in 2002. Samir was appointed Visiting Professor of Creative Media at Oxford University in 2019 and the University of Nottingham appointed him to a Special Professorship in the Department of Post Conflict Studies.

Samir was born in India and came to England in 1960. He is married to Belkis with one son, Cimran.

Remuneration and Governance Code

The Chair of the BBC receives £160,000 per annum for 3 to 4 days per week. This appointment has been made in accordance with the Cabinet Office’s Governance Code on Public Appointments. The BBC Board comprises fourteen members: a non-executive Chair, a designated non-executive member for each of the Nations of the UK (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales); five other non-executive members and four executive members, including the BBC Director-General. The Chair and four non-executive members for the Nations are appointed by The King-in-Council. The other non-executive members are appointed by the BBC Board through its nominations committee. The executive members are also appointed by the Board through its nominations committee.

Department for Culture, Media and Sport