Business and civil society leaders form partnership to tackle challenges in society

Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Karen Bradley chairs first meeting of the Inclusive Economy Partnership

The Partnership sees government, businesses and civil society working together to identify and develop solutions to societal challenges

Leaders from business and civil society organisations have come together to create an Inclusive Economy Partnership that will tackle significant challenges facing our society.

Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Karen Bradley chaired the first meeting on Monday 11th September 2017.

The Partnership is led by an Advisory Group of 14 chief executives from a wide range of businesses and civil society organisations, including National Grid, Nationwide, O2, TechUK, NCVO and Big Lottery Fund. It is being convened by DCMS and Cabinet Office, with support from the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

The Partnership will address issues relating to financial inclusion and capability, mental health and transition to work.

Over 80 individuals from business and civil society have already signed up to working groups for each of these areas, which will develop solutions to help tackle these issues over the coming months.

Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Karen Bradley said:

"It was a hugely positive first meeting to kick start the Partnership which will help us build a stronger and fairer society. This Partnership brings together key leaders from the business sector and civil society world and working together we can help make a real difference to people’s lives."

Chris Skidmore MP, Minister for the Constitution, said:

"Government cannot tackle big societal challenges on its own which is why I am pleased to see collaboration and innovation at the heart of Partnership with the aim to positively impact the lives of hardworking families, removing barriers and creating opportunities."

The Group will meet at least twice a year over a three to five year period.

The Group is made up of:

• Olly Benzecry, managing director of Accenture UK & Ireland
• Sacha Romanovitch, chief executive of Grant Thornton
• John Pettigrew, chief executive of National Grid
• Joe Garner, chief executive of Nationwide Building Society
• Mark Evans, chief executive of O2
• Robert Noel, chief executive of Landsec
• Jacqueline de Rojas, president, techUK
• Caroline Mason, chief executive, Esmée Fairbairn Foundation
• Mark Norbury, chief executive, UNLtd.
• Peter Holbrook, chief executive, Social Enterprise UK
• Sir Stuart Etherington, chief executive, NCVO
• Dawn Austwick, chief executive, Big Lottery Fund
• Cliff Prior, chief executive, Big Society Capital