Secretary Of State Appoints Ofcom Chair

Lord Terry Burns appointed as new Chair of Ofcom from January 2018

Lord Terence Burns has been appointed by the Secretary of State as the new Chair of the Ofcom Board, for four years from 1 January 2018.

The term of the outgoing chair, Dame Patricia Hodgson, ends on 31 December 2017.

Culture Secretary Karen Bradley said:

"I would like to thank Dame Patricia Hodgson for her many years of service and welcome Lord Burns as the new Ofcom Chair. The UK has a thriving telecommunications industry and a dynamic media landscape, and Lord Burns’ roles at Channel 4 and in government means he brings with him a wealth of expertise and experience to this vital role."

Lord Burns said:

"I am very pleased to have the opportunity to take on this role at an important time for Ofcom. The UK communications sector provides essential services to everyone in the UK and is critical to the future success of the economy."

Lord Burns is Senior Adviser to Banco Santander and a non-executive member of the Office for Budget Responsibility. He is also a member of the House of Lords Economic Affairs Select Committee and Chairman of the Lord Speaker’s Committee on the Size of the House.

He was Chief Economic Advisor to the Treasury and Head of the Government Economic Service from 1980 to 1991 and Permanent Secretary to the Treasury from 1991 until 1998.

Previous appointments include Chairman of Santander UK plc, Channel 4 Television Corporation; Marks and Spencer plc, Welsh Water, the National Lottery Commission and The Royal Academy of Music.

From 2004 to 2006 he was Independent Adviser to the Secretary of State on the BBC Charter Review.