Appointment of Paul Jarvis and Ed Smyth as members of the Criminal Procedure Rule Committee

The Secretary of State for Justice has announced the appointment of Paul Jarvis and Ed Smyth for a period of 4 years

Paul Jarvis and Edmund Smyth have been appointed as new members of the Criminal Procedure Rule Committee (CPRC) from 1 September 2019 until 31 August 2023.

Paul Jarvis is a Junior Treasury Counsel at the Central Criminal Court, appointed by the Attorney General to prosecute more serious cases such as murder and terrorism. He undertakes voluntary work on the Bar Standards Board’s Independent Decision-Making Body. He has written books and articles on criminal procedure and given a range of lectures on relevant subjects.

Edmund is a Senior Associate in the Criminal Litigation Department of Kingsley Napley. He represents individuals and corporates across the full spectrum of criminal and quasi-criminal investigations and prosecutions involving matters such as financial crime, bribery and corruption, asset recovery, sexual offences and extradition. He is a committee member of the London Criminal Courts Solicitors’ Association, and acts as the Association’s media officer.

The Courts Act 2003 established the CPRC to make rules governing the practice and procedure of magistrates’ courts, the Crown Court and the Court of Appeal, criminal division.

The Act requires the Committee to make rules that are simple and simply expressed, and that help make the criminal justice system accessible, fair and efficient.

These appointments have been made in line with the Governance Code on Public Appointments.

Appointments to CPRC are made by the Lord Chancellor in consultation with the Lord Chief Justice for England and Wales.